Reigning champ Bolt disqualified after false start
Defending champion Usain Bolt was disqualified in the 100 metre final of the World Championships on Sunday after a shocking false start. Fellow Jamaican Yohan Blake took the gold.
Bolt, the Olympic gold medallist and world record holder in the event, ripped off his singlet in disgust after shooting off the blocks before the gun went off.
The packed stadium in Daegu, South Korea was in a state of dismay as Bolt left the track. Blake, a fellow training partner under coach Glenn Mills, was able to take advantage of the restart to claim the win with a sprint of 9.92 seconds.
Bolt told reporters, “I have nothing to say right now. I need some time.”
Blake was equally dumbstruck, explaining how Bolt had been a great support for him and saying his teammate's disqualification made him feel like crying.
Although the IAAF, the sports governing body, said it was disappointed by Bolt’s disqualification, they maintain that they must apply the same rules to all athletes.
The current rule, in place since 1 January 2010, says that athletes are not allowed a second chance after a false start. Previous rules made it possible for athletes to make one false start before being disqualified for any subsequent ones.